Expert comment

Our experts cover a wide range of topics, from tourism and transport to mental health and compassionate care.  No time to search? Then call us on 0131 455 6251 or mail press@napier.ac.uk.

Jane Ali-Knight

School of Marketing, Tourism & Languages
j.ali-knight@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 4392

Area of expertise:
Festival and event management, wine tourism, destination development

Dr Sarah Artt

Institute for Creative Industries
S.Artt@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 6229

Area of expertise
​Science fiction, women’s writing, contemporary film

Dr Peter Barlow

Institute for Science and Health Innovation
p.barlow@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 6167

Area of expertise
​Immunology, viral infections, influenza

Dr Paul Barron

School of Marketing, Tourism and Languages
p.barron@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 4733

Area of expertise
​Employees in hospitality and tourism

Prof David Benyon

Institute for Informatics and Digital Innovation
d.benyon@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2736

Area of expertise
​Human-computer interaction, interaction design

Sarah Borthwick

School of Accounting, Financial Services and Law
s.borthwick@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 4548

Area of expertise
​Green fiscal transport policy

Prof Bill Buchanan

School of Computing
b.buchanan@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2759

Area of expertise
​Computer security and cybercrime

Dr Zoe Chouliara

School of Health & Social Care
Z.Chouliara@napier.ac.uk

Area of expertise
Psychotherapy/counselling, interpersonal trust, dermatology, recovering from adversity

Dr Alison Craig

School of Life, Sport and Social Sciences
al.craig@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2245

Area of expertise
​Environmental biology, marine mammals, humpback whales

Yvonne Cruickshank

School of Life, Sport and Social Sciences
Y.Cruickshank@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2463

Area of expertise
​Forensic toxicology

Prof John Currie

Director, Scottish Energy Centre
j.currie@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2253

Area of expertise
​Environment, energy, green issues

Dr Tony Douglas

Director, SALES, Edinburgh Institute
t.douglas@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 4354

Area of expertise
​Selling, sales management, entrepreneurship

Prof Linda Dryden

Institute for Creative Industries
l.dryden@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 6128

Area of expertise
​Robert Louis Stevenson, late Victorian and Edwardian fiction, gothic, science fiction

Dr Alistair Duff

Institute for Informatics and Digital Innovation
a.duff@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 6163

Area of expertise
​FOI, privacy and surveillance

Tom Flint

Institute for Informatics and Digital Innovation
t.flint@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2375

Area of expertise
​Creative computing, digital storytelling

Dr Jason Gilchrist

School of Life, Sport and Social Sciences
j.gilchrist@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2394

Area of expertise
​Animal stress physiology, behavioural ecology

Dr Robert Hairstans

Institute for Sustainable Construction
R.Hairstans@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2891

Area of expertise
​Housing market, construction technologies

Prof Hazel Hall

Director, Centre for Social Informatics
h.hall@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2760

Area of expertise
​Social media, online information provision

Paul Harkins

School of Arts and Creative Industries
p.harkins@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 5020

Area of expertise
​Music, copyright, music industry and music technology

Dr Gary Hutchison

Director, Centre for Nano Safety
ga.hutchison@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2344

Area of expertise
​Nano safety, toxicology, reproductive biology

Prof Mark Huxham

School of Life, Sport and Social Sciences
m.huxham@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2514

Area of expertise
​Coastal ecosystems and ecology, teaching and learning

Dr Piotr Jaworski

School of Management
p.jaworski@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 4279

Area of expertise
​Economics, social and commercial insurance

Prof Thanos Karatzias

Health, Life and Social Sciences
t.karatzias@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 5345

Area of expertise
​Mental health, learning disabilities, psychological trauma, PTSD

Lester Knibb

Life, Sport and Social Sciences
L.knibb@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2117

Area of expertise
​Forensic biology

Susan Laing

Director, Institute for Entrepreneurship
s.laing@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 4347

Area of expertise
​Entrepreneurship, enterprise skills

Prof Anna Leask

School of Marketing, Tourism and Languages
a.leask@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 4382

Area of expertise
Visitor attraction and heritage management, business tourism

Andrew MacIver

Transport Research Institute
a.maciver@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2554

Area of expertise
​Transportation engineering, roads

Giuseppe Maglione

School of Life, Sport and Social Sciences
G.Maglione@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 6019

Area of expertise
​Criminology, sociology of law

Dr Shuna Marr

School of Marketing, Tourism and Languages
0131 455 4403
s.marr@napier.ac.uk

Area of expertise
​Aviation, tourism management

Prof Alistair McCleery

Director, Scottish Centre for the Book
a.mccleery@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 6171

Area of expertise
​Publishing, copyright, bookselling, censorship

Dr Oli Mival

Institute for Informatics and Digital Innovation
o.mival@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2761

Area of expertise
​human computer interaction, user experience, digital workflow needs

Prof Tariq Muneer

Transport Research Institute
t.muneer@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2541

Area of expertise
​solar energy, electric cars, sustainable transport

Malcolm Pettigrew

School of Accounting, Financial Services and Law
m.pettigrew@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 4454

Area of expertise
​Central Banking, Banking Regulation, Credit & Risk Management

Dan Ridley-Ellis

Institute for Sustainable Construction
d.ridley-ellis@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2449

Area of expertise
Trees and wood properties, timber grading and standards

Prof Tom Rye

Transport Research Institute
t.rye@napier.ac.uk

Area of expertise
​Transport policy, mobility management, parking management

Prof Sean Smith

Director, Institute for Sustainable Construction
Se.Smith@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 5112

Area of expertise
​Low carbon construction, building technologies, new housing

Dr Stephen Smith

School of Health & Social Care
ste.smith@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 5675

Area of expertise
​Compassionate person centred care

Prof Jill Stavert

School of Accounting, Financial Services and Law
j.stavert@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 4553

Area of expertise
​International Law, Human Rights, Mental Health Law, Constitutional Law

Prof Martin Tangney

Director, Biofuel Research Centre
m.tangney@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2217

Area of expertise
​microbial biofuel production, energy from waste products, renewable energy

Stephen Taylor

School of Marketing, Tourism and Languages
js.taylor@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 4236

Area of expertise
​Natural area tourism

Dr Eleni Theodoraki

School of Marketing, Tourism and Languages
E.Theodoraki@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 4717

Area of expertise
​Mega sports events and festivals, organisational analysis

Dr Neil Urquhart

Institute for Informatics and Digital Innovation
n.urquhart@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 2655

Area of expertise
Evolutionary Algorithms, vehicle routing and scheduling

Dr Tony Westbury

Life, Sport and Social Sciences
0131 455 2554 / 2520
t.westbury@napier.ac.uk

Area of expertise
​Sport psychology, exercise behaviour

Zhongdong Niu

School of Accounting, Financial Services and Law
z.niu@napier.ac.uk
0131 455 4572

Area of expertise
​Media Law, International Economic Law, Comparative Law and Employment Law