Centre for Sustainable Communities

‚ÄčLed by Professor Mark Deakin, the Centre for Sustainable Communities focuses on the importance of networking, innovation and creative partnerships in meeting the objectives of a sustainable development.

Research and technical development activities within the Centre include:

  • Place-making skills and competencies
  • Learning from what works in sustainable community development
  • Sustainable urban regeneration
  • Digitally-inclusive regeneration platforms
  • The embedded intelligence of smart cities
  • Sustainable development frameworks, master-plans and design codes
  • Adaptation and mass retrofit strategies for sustaining the development of low carbon zones

Recently completed research projects include:

  • CLUE (Climate Neutral Urban Environments). Funded by the EC’s INTERREG IVC Programme, 2012-2015.
  • Smart and Sustainable Cities. Funded by the European Investment Bank and as part of the JESSICA Programme (co-collaborators, Mazares and WSP Group) 2011-2012.
  • SmartCities. Funded by the EC’s INTERREG IVB Programme on Innovation, 2008-2011.
  • EXPGOV. Funded by the EC's IPTS Programme on Emerging City Governance Models, 2010-2011
  • SUE2: SURegen (Sustainable Urban Regeneration). Funded under Phase 2 of the EPSRC Sustainable Urban Environment Programme, 2007-2012.


The SmartCities project is creating an innovation network between cities and academic partners to develop and deliver better online services to citizens and businesses in the North Sea region.

Professor Mark Deakin

Head of Centre

As Professor of Built Environment at Edinburgh Napier University, Mark Deakin has published 12 textbooks and over 60 peer reviewed journal papers on sustainable urban development, sustainable community development and place-based transformations. These publications include: Sustainable Urban Development (Volumes 1-3, Routledge 2005-2009) and Smart Cities: Governing, Modelling and Analyzing the Transition (Routledge, 2013). Mark has also directed research programmes on sustainable community development for the European Commission, Economic and Social Research Council and Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council in the UK.