Commonwealth Shared Scholarship scheme

Edinburgh Napier is not currently participating in this scheme.

Scholarship details

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Commission (funded via Department for International Development) and UK Universities to support students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the UK.

The scholarship will cover the full tuition and a monthly stipend including air fares to and from the UK. 

Eligibility criteria

To be considered, applicants must:

  • be permanently resident in one of the following countries:

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Virgin Islands (British), Zambia, Zimbabwe

  • by August 2017, hold a first degree of either first or upper second class (2:1) level or lower second class (2:2) level plus a relevant postgraduate qualification such as a Master’s degree

  • not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a developed country
  • be unable, either themselves or through their family, to pay to study in the UK
  • display the relevant academic and English language criteria of their chosen course by having an unconditional offer of study to Edinburgh Napier University in place by the 28th March 2017 deadline  

How to apply

Applications closed.

Unconditional applicants who meet all the eligibility criteria above by 28th March 2017 will be pre-assessed by Edinburgh Napier University and a shortlist will be passed to the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme.

Candidates will be shortlisted based on their overall academic profile, including supporting documentation such as references and personal statements.

Candidates will be emailed with notification they have been shortlisted by 28th April 2017 with further information.

There is no requirement to contact the University to ask to be put forward for nomination.

The successful candidate will be notified before 30th June 2017

Application Deadline

Applications closed.

Further information

For more information please visit the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme website.