Hazel Hall elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh
Professor Hazel Hall of the School of Computing is one of 60 new elected Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh

Date posted

20 February 2017

The Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE) brings together distinguished individuals from the arts, business, science and technology and academia worlds to advance learning and knowledge in Scottish public life. The breadth of the Fellowship – which includes over 1600 individuals from the UK and abroad – enables the RSE to provide a wide range of leadership and expertise.

Each year the RSE undertakes a rigorous five-stage nomination and election process to appoint around 60 new Fellows. The School of Computing's Hazel Hall is one of those elected in 2017. Also elected in 2017 are Val McDermid, James Naughtie, Professor Iain Stewart and Kirsty Wark. HRH The Duke of Cambridge also joins the cohort as a Royal Honorary Fellow.

For further information please see the press release issued by the Royal Society of Edinburgh at http://www.rse.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/Press-Release-The-RSE-welcomes-60-new-Fellows.pdf; the news story on the Edinburgh Napier web site at http://www.napier.ac.uk/about-us/news/rse-fellowship-for-award-winning-academic and the post on Hazel Hall's blog at https://hazelhall.org/2017/02/20/two-new-appointments-fellow-of-the-royal-society-of-edinburgh-and-docent-at-abo-akademi-university/

Research Areas