Research Output

The Organ Music of William Wolstenholme.

  A recording of selected organ works, issued by Priory Records, much of which was previously unrecorded, of the Blackburn-born English organist composer William Wolstenholme (1865-1931). The organ used for the recording, in Christ Church, Port Sunlight, Wirral, has been recently restored, but is otherwise unchanged since built by Henry Willis II in 1904; it is of a style with which Wolstenhome would have been familiar. This is the only CD of the instrument. The selection of music chosen, was made following an earlier research visit to the Royal College of Organists’ library at Birmingham City University, funded by the Carnegie Trust.

  • Type:


  • Date:

    30 April 2011

  • Publication Status:


  • Publisher

    Priory Records

  • Library of Congress:

    M1 Music

  • Dewey Decimal Classification:

    786 Keyboard & other instruments

  • Funders:

    Carnegie Trust for the Universities of Scotland


Harris, M. (2011). The Organ Music of William Wolstenholme.



Wolstenholme: Concert Overture No 2; Serenata;Scherzo in B flat; Romanza and Allegretto; Fantasia in E; Allegretto scherzando; Epilogue; Cantilene; Die Frage; Die Antwort; Finale in B flat

Monthly Views:

Available Documents