2019 winners revealed

Date posted

5 August 2019


Edinburgh Napier has scored a double success in the 2019 Teaching Excellence Awards.

Dr Jacqueline Brodie from the Business School is among 54 new National Teaching Fellows.

Portrait of Jacqueline Brodie

And a group led by Professor Mark Huxham is one of 15 winning Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence (CATE) teams, announced today by Advance HE.

Dr Brodie is one of only two new National Teaching Fellows to be based at a Scottish university, along with the University of Edinburgh’s Professor Heather McQueen, with the only other winning Scottish CATE team coming from Glasgow Caledonian University.


Dr Brodie is Head of Learning and Teaching at the Business School, and has particular expertise in online learning.

Our winning CATE team - Mark Huxham (team leader), Rachel Murray (deputy leader), Mo Andrew, Jenny Scoles, Errol Rivera, Kimberly Wilder, Julia Jung, Anne Tierney and Maxine Wood – worked together on the Students as Colleagues initiative.

CATE team, led by Mark Huxham, on and around the benches at the Sighthill campus


The programme shows how students and staff can work together to improve learning and teaching. It fosters trusting relationships among students and staff drawn from all academic disciplines and from relevant support services, providing bespoke training to students on skills practiced in the programme and vital in many professional roles.

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme and the Collaborative Award for Teaching Excellence showcase the outstanding impact of individuals and teams who teach or support learning in UK higher education.

As well as recognising their success, it provides a platform to share the learning from their practice.

Alison Johns, Advance HE’s chief executive, said: “Congratulations to all our 2019 winners of these two prestigious, national awards.

“Becoming a National Teaching Fellow or winning CATE team is a huge achievement.


“It can be truly life-changing, creating ambassadors for innovative and impactful teaching who are valued by institutions and colleagues, and who can set in motion change and enhancements to make a really positive impact on student experience and outcomes across their institution and beyond.


“Advance HE looks forward to working with the winners to help to disseminate their work for the benefit of all.”


Dr Ben Calvert, Chair of the 2019 Teaching Excellence Awards Advisory Panel, said: “These awards really are the pinnacle of reward and recognition in teaching and learning.


“The 2019 winners are rightly proud of their achievements and I am sure they will continue to share their knowledge as individuals and teams so that their institutions, colleagues and the wider higher education sector can benefit from their expertise.”


Winners will receive their awards at a special ceremony on 16 October in Manchester.


Advance HE supports universities in putting institutional strategy into practice for the benefit of students, staff and society, bringing together HE-focused expertise in governance, leadership and management, teaching and learning, and equality, diversity and inclusion.


The organisation came into being in March 2018, following the merger of the Equality Challenge Unit, the Higher Education Academy and the Leadership Foundation for Higher Education.